Black Edge : Inside Information, Dirty Money, and the Quest to Bring Down the Most Wanted Man on Wall Street by Sheelah Kolhatkar

In Forex Books Reviews by


Author Sheelah Kolhatkar’s “Black Edge: Inside Information, Dirty Money, and the Quest to Bring Down the Most Wanted Man on Wall Street,” tells the riveting tale of Steven A. Cohen – a trader of legendary status and his hedge fund called SAC Capital. However, it wasn’t long when his reputation, including that of SAC Capital, became the subject of a seven-year government investigation. “Black Edge” exposes the legal and moral grey areas prominent in the hedge funding industry – an industry that earns its participants millions through the speculation of market trends and directions.

“Black Edge,” which technically means information hidden from the public, is an enthralling story that provides insight on the American phenomenon of getting rich through questionable methods and how they are able to do so with impunity.     

About the Author

Sheelah Kolhatkar, a former hedge fund analyst, is a staff writer at The New Yorker, where she writes about Wall Street, Silicon Valley, and politics, among other things. She has appeared as a speaker and commentator on business and economics issues at conferences and broadcast outlets, including CNBC, Bloomberg Television, Charlie Rose, PBS NewsHour, WNYC, and NPR. Her writing has also appeared in Bloomberg Businessweek, New York, The Atlantic, The New York Times, and other publications. She lives in New York City.

Table of Contents

  • Prologue: The Flip
    • Part I
      • Chapter 1: Money, Money, Money
      • Chapter 2: What Stevie Wants, Stevie Gets
      • Chapter 3: Murderers’ Row
    • Part II
      • Chapter 4: It’s Like Gambling at Rick’s
      • Chapter 5: Edgy, Proprietary Information
      • Chapter 6: Conflict of Interest
      • Chapter 7: Stuff That Legends Are Made Of
    • Part III
      • Chapter 8: The Informant
      • Chapter 9: The Death of Kings
      • Chapter 10: Occam’s Razor
      • Chapter 11: Undefeatable
      • Chapter 12: The Whale
      • Chapter 13: Karma
      • Chapter 14: The Life Raft
    • Part IV
      • Chapter 15: Justice
      • Chapter 16: Judgment
  • Epilogue
  • Cast of Characters
  • Acknowledgements
  • Notes and Sources
  • Index